Start Planning

Peru Public Holidays 2017

Today – 16 December 2017 – is not a holiday in Peru.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
13 AprThuMaundy Thursday
14 AprFriGood Friday
1 MayMonLabour Day
29 JunThuFeast of St Peter and St Paul
28 JulFriIndependence Day
29 JulSatIndependence Day Holiday
30 AugWedSanta Rosa de Lima
8 OctSunBattle of Angamos
1 NovWedAll Saints' Day
16 NovThuSpecial Public Holiday (World Cup 2018 Qualification)
8 DecFriImmaculate Conception
25 DecMonChristmas Day

Visit for the original release.

The government of Peru issues a statement at the end of each year through the Ministry of Labor declaring what days are official holidays for the following year. Most of the government rulings concerning public holidays are made through official decrees. The decrees are published in a national publication each year.

In these decrees, it is stated that employees of the government are entitled to the national holidays off and all government offices are closed on these days. The government encourages businesses in the private sector to honour these holidays with a day off. Payment for holidays outside of the government sector is at the option of the employer through the work contracts.

Since 2006, the government of Peru has begun to give the day prior to the holiday off to employees and has encouraged the private sector to follow suit. They believe that by extending the holidays for an extra day it will encourage local tourism and benefit the overall economy.

Most viewed holidays today: